Dirtmusic: Troubles


Troubles is the new album from Dirtmusic Chris Eckman (The Walkabouts) and Hugo Race (Fatalists/True Spirit/Bad Seeds) – recorded in Bamako, Mali, in September 2012 during the high-tension and tragic recent crisis – hence the name,‘Troubles’.Race and Eckman decided to head further upriver’, composing and recording an album from scratch in full collaboration with a select crew of Malian artists. Drawing on musicians from the Ben Zabo and Samba Toure bands as a core rhythm section, Race and Eckman produced the sessions on the dance floor of Salif Keita’s Moffou Club, inviting in guest vocalists including not only Ben Zabo and Samba Touré, but also Virginie Dembele (from the Rokia Traore ensemble), rising star Aminata Wassidje Traore and soku-master Zoumana Tereta.Inspired by the collision between West African rhythms, digital sorcery androck’n’roll, Troubles is a singular and border-slicing musical journey.  Release date: June 7th, 2013 on Glitterbeat




scroll up