'The Light The Dead Sea' is the follow-up to 2009’s critically acclaimed album Broken and is the fourth studio album from Soulsavers - the music and production team of Rich Machin and Ian Glover, published by MUTE Song. Recorded at various locations and mastered at Abbey Road, the record was made as a collaboration with Depeche Mode frontman Dave Gahan.

Soulsavers have been a growing force since 2003's debut 'Tough Guys Don't Dance'. 2007's 'It's Not How Far You Fall, It's The Way You Land' brought their dark flair to a wider audience. The inimitable Mark Lanegan served as primary singer, though there were also vocal contributions from Will Oldham and Jimi Goodwin. In 2009, third album 'Broken' confirmed that Soulsavers were moving away from early electronica to earthier guitars, use of space and what Machin described as "a soulful twist". Lanegan again led the vocals on stand-outs such as 'You Will Miss Me When I Burn' and 'All The Way Down', with other guest vocalists including Oldham again, Jason Pierce, Richard Hawley, Mike Patton and Gibby Haynes.





scroll up